Spring 2019 – Canticum Novum

Plakat Canticum Novum 2019Five centuries of new songs

A musically broadening a cappella delight brought to you by TICC under the direction and moderation of Michael Muche.

Claudio Monteverdi: Cantate Domino
Alexander Tichonowitsch Gretchaninoff: Cantate Domino
Vytautas Miškinis: Cantate Domino
Sir John Goss: Stand up and bless the Lord your God
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Magnificat
Knut Nystedt: All the Ways of a Man

Admission free – donations are welcome.

Time and place

18.5.2019 – 19:00
Dietrich-Bonhoeffer-Kirche Frankfurt
Thomas-Mann-Straße 10a, 60439 Frankfurt

19.5.2019 – 20:00
Elisabethkirche Marburg
Elisabethstraße 3, 35037 Marburg

23.6.2019 – 17:00
ev. church in Katzenelnbogen-Klingelbach
Kirchstraße 15, 56368 Klingelbach

Our program combines two things: the joys of sacred choir music and new worlds of sound!

From the very old to the very new, from the late Renaissance on into the 21st century: TICC is offering a uniquely composed program. The concert’s unifying theme is the sacred song of praise. Six representative a cappella works from Monteverdi to Mendelssohn-Bartholdy to Nystedt have been chosen for this musical stroll through the centuries. Our director has chosen the lecture recital format to provide an intellectual framework for the emotional intensity engendered by these works. The performance of each work is preceded with an entertaining introduction and illustrated by the  singing of selected passages by the choir.

The advantage of this “sung music lesson” is that in addition to getting acquainted with some relatively unknown composers the audience will gain an understanding of why many of them were regarded in their time as musical revolutionaries and historically important composers. Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643) for example. He is the bridge between the Renaissance to the (early) Baroque era. What for his contemporaries were genuinely disquieting and daring harmonic acrobatics are perceived today as totally melodious: the comfortable familiarity of a golden oldie.

The second part of the program is designed to give the audience precisely that experience with the new or unfamiliar. The very influential Norwegian composer Knut Nystedt challenges today’s listener expectations just as Monteverdi did in his time. Nystedt, who died in 2014, marries the craftsmanship of 20th century composition with aural sensuality – instead of glaring dissonance the audience is treated to a delicious musical setting with highly inventive and surprising changes in direction. In this regard his fascinating “All the Ways of a Man” (1971) might almost be viewed as a compendium of modern compositional technique.

Frühjahr 2019 – Canticum Novum

Neue Gesänge aus fünf Jahrhunderten

Ein lehrreicher Hörgenuss mit TICC a cappella unter der Leitung und Moderation von Michael Muche.

Claudio Monteverdi: Cantate Domino
Alexander Tichonowitsch Gretchaninoff: Cantate Domino
Vytautas Miškinis: Cantate Domino
Sir John Goss: Stand up and bless the Lord your God
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Magnificat
James MacMillan: Children are a heritage of the Lord
Knut Nystedt: All the Ways of a Man

Zeit und Ort

18.5.2019 – 19.00 Uhr
Dietrich-Bonhoeffer-Kirche Frankfurt
Thomas-Mann-Straße 10a
60439 Frankfurt

19.5.2019 – 20.00 Uhr
Elisabethkirche Marburg
Elisabethstraße 3
35037 Marburg

Eintritt frei – Spenden sind willkommen.

Zwei Dinge vereinen wir in diesem Programm: Freude an geistlicher Chormusik und Interesse an neuen Klangwelten!

Von ganz Alt bis ganz Neu, von der Spätrenaissance bis ins 21. Jahrhundert: TICC präsentiert ein Programm, das in seiner Zusammenstellung einzigartig ist. Thematischer Leitfaden für das Konzert: Lobgesänge auf Gott. Dieser musikalische Spaziergang durch die Jahrhunderte wird für das Publikum ein intensives Erlebnis: Als Rahmen für die sieben a cappella-Werke, darunter auch Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdys „Magnificat“, hat unser Chorleiter die Form des Gesprächskonzertes gewählt. Bevor die jeweiligen Werke erklingen, stellt er die Stücke unterhaltsam vor und lässt den Chor zur Verdeutlichung immer wieder ausgewählte Passagen anstimmen.

Der Vorteil bei diesem „gesungenen Musikunterricht“: Das Publikum lernt zum einen die teilweise eher unbekannten Komponisten kennen, aber vor allem wird nachvollziehbar, weshalb mancher von ihnen in seiner Zeit als musikalischer Revolutionär galt – und damit Musikgeschichte schrieb. Claudio Monteverdi (1567-1643) zum Beispiel. Er markiert den Übergang von der Renaissance zum (Früh-)Barock. Was für seine Zeitgenossen regelrecht verstörende harmonische Wendungen waren, empfindet man heute als überaus wohlklingend, um nicht zu sagen: altbekannt.

Genau diese Erfahrung des Unbekannten sollen die ZuhörerInnen im zweiten Teil des Konzerts machen: Der einflussreiche zeitgenössische Komponist Knut Nystedt stellt die heutigen Hörgewohnheiten auf die Probe, wie es wohl in seiner Zeit Monteverdi tat. Der 2014 verstorbene Norweger verheiratet das Kompositionshandwerk des 20. Jahrhunderts mit klanglicher Sinnlichkeit – anstelle greller Dissonanzen darf sich das Publikum auf eine höchst einfallsreiche Vertonung samt überraschenden Wendungen freuen. So gesehen kann man sein faszinierendes „All the Ways of a Man“ (1971) fast als Kompendium der modernen Kompositionstechniken sehen.